A Sad Day for the Philippines

The fight to defend the cause of family and life is not over.   The passage of the RH Bill into law has just made the fight more challenging.   The promise of advent will forever be our source of hope:  “Emmanuel” which means “God is with us.”  (Mt 1:23)


Bishop Gabriel Reyes laments the apparent act of corruption by the government in pressuring congressmen to vote Yes for the RH Bill.

“It’s a sad day for our country.”

Chairman of Episcopal Commission on Family and Life and Antipolo Bishop Gabriel Reyes said the Congress’ approval on Monday of the reproductive health (RH) bill on third and final reading is a “sad day for the country.”

The House of Representatives passed the contentious RH bill 133-79 with seven abstentions.

Besides reiterating the harmful consequences of the RH bill to women’s health and sanctity of the family, Reyes also lamented Malacañang’s hand in the passage of the law.  The bishop decried what he said was an act of corruption on the part of Malacañang by pressuring congressmen and dangling pork barrel in exchange for their vote.

But Reyes assured that the Church will remain in its commitment to educate the people about family values and the harmful consequences of contraceptives, he said.

Reyes said congressmen “who remain steadfast with their No [vote] despite the pressure of Malacanang,” deserve to be congratulated.

And “for those who voted yes, we do not make a hate campaign,” he added.

Senate also passed its own version of the RH bill on third and final reading with 13 voting Yes and 8 against it.   Those who voted “Yes” to the measure were:  Senators Pia Cayetano, principal author, Edgardo Angara, Joker Arroyo, Alan Peter Cayetano, Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Franklin Drilon, Francis Escudero, Teofisto Guingona III, Panfilo Lacson, Loren Legarda, Ferdinand Marcos Jr., Francis Pangilinan, and Ralph Recto.

Those who voted no to the bill were Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, Senate President Pro-Tempore Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada, Senate Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III, and Senators Gregorio Honasan, Aquilino Pimentel III, Ramon Revilla Jr., Antonio Trillanes IV, and Manny Villar.

Senators Manuel “Lito” Lapid and Sergio Osmena III were absent during the voting.

Here is the link to the list of the 133 congressmen who voted “Yes” to the RH Bill:  http://www.interaksyon.com/article/50634/rh-vote-in-house–who-voted-yes 

Here is the link to the list  of the 79 congressmen who voted “‘No” and the 7 who abstained:   http://www.interaksyon.com/article/50635/rh-vote-in-house-who-voted-no-and-who-abstained

Here is the link to the list of congressmen who voted ‘No’ before, but were absent on 3rd reading:  http://www.interaksyon.com/article/50636/rh-vote-in-house–who-voted-no-before-but-were-absent-on-3rd-reading





%d bloggers like this: